MEGAN'S LAW

Prompted by the tragic murders of seven year old Megan Kanka and Amanda Wengert, Governor Whitman signed, "Megan's Law" into effect on October 31, 1994.  The main purpose of this law is to notify schools, community organizations and the public of certain sex offenders residing in New Jersey.

 

The following is an overview of Megan's Law:

 

NOT ALL PEOPLE WHO HAVE COMMITTED A SEX CRIME MUST REGISTER UNDER MEGAN'S LAW.

 

Who must register under Megan's Law?

1) Those who were ever found to be a compulsive and repetitive sex offender.
 

2) Any individual who was convicted, adjudicated, or found not guilty by reason of insanity of any crimes listed below, after the enactment of Megan's Law on October 31, 1994.

3) Any individual who was under some type supervision on October 31, 1994. "Supervision could mean that the individual was in the county jail, a state prison, on probation, or on parole.

 

Crimes that require registration:

 

1) Aggravated Sexual Assault

2) Sexual Assault

3) Aggravated Sexual Contact

4) Sexual Contact, if the victim is less than 18 years of age

5) Endangering the Welfare of a child, by engaging in sexual contact

6) Endangering the welfare of a child, by participating in child pornography

7) Child Luring

8) Kidnapping, if the victim is less that 18 years of age and the offender is not the parent or the guardian

9) Criminal Restraint, if the victim is less than 18 years of age and the offender is not a parent or a guardian

10) False Imprisonment, if the victim is less than 18 years of age and offender
            is not a parent or guardian             

11) An attempt to commit any of the above crimes

 

Where do you register?

 

An individual who is required to register must do so at the local police department in the community where he or she resides.  If their town does not have a police department, he or she must register with the New Jersey State Police.  Individuals deemed to be a compulsive and repetitive sex offender must verify their address with their appropriate police department every 90 days.  All other individuals must verify their address annually.

 

What is community notification?

 

Community Notification is a means of alerting the community that a sex offender, who has been determined to be a moderate risk or high risk to re-offend, is living in the community.  A Superior Court Judge makes this determination after a tier classification hearing (which is not open to the public).

 

Who receives Community Notification?

 

IF ALLOWED BY THE COURTS, THE FOLLOWING ESTABLISHMENTS RECEIVE COMMUNITY NOTIFICATION:

 

Tier     1                      Risk Level: Low Risk to Re-offend                                           

 

Who receives Notification:

  Police in the towns in which the resistant lives, works and/or goes to school

 

 

Tier     2                      Risk Level:  Moderate Risk to Re-Offend

 

Who receives Notification:

  Police in the towns in which the registrant lives, works and/or goes to school

  Schools and registered community groups who are charged with the care of children and women in a designated area around where the registrant lives, works, and/or goes to school

 

 

Tier     3                      Risk Level:  High Risk to Re-Offend

 

Who receives Notification:

 Police in the towns in which the registrant lives, works and/or goes to school

 Schools and registered community groups who are charged with the care of children and women in a designated area around where the registrant lives, works and/or goes to school

 The general public in a designated area around where the registrant lives, works, and/or goes to school.

 

What is a "School or Community Group"?

 

A 'School or community group' has been defined as anyone that owns or operates an establishment where children gather under their care or where women are cared for.

 

Certain groups are automatically qualified:

 

Public Schools, Licensed Day Care Facilities, and Summer Camps

 

In order to qualify as a school or community which will receive notice, the court must find that the members of the group are "likely to encounter" the registrant.

 

If you belong to a school or community group and would like to make an application to receive this type of notice, you may file an application with your local police department or the Sussex County Prosecutor's Office.

 

Boy Scouts, Girl Scouts. Little League, Department of Recreation, PAL, Battered Women's Shelter, etc, are examples of organizations that may apply to receive notifications.

 

 

 For Information on the New Jersey Sex Offender Internet Registry Click here or on below symbol.

 

 

Additional Information:

A Citizen's Guide to Megan's Law Brochure

 

 *** ABOVE INFORMATION SUPPLIED BY THE SUSSEX COUNTY PROSECUTORS OFFICE ***

 

 

Home  |  Chief of Police  |  Department Info  |  Department Services  |  Records Department
Detective Bureau  |   Traffic Bureau  |  Patrol Division | In School Programs  |  Reporting a Crime    Town Ordinances  |  Municipal Court  |  Links  |  FAQ's  |  Contact Us

Andover Township Police Department
134 Newton Sparta Road   |   Newton, New Jersey 07860
 
Emergency:  911   |   Non-Emergency: (973) 383-5544

Copyright 2015 Andover Township Police Department